Tasting Cape Town

I was fortunate enough to attend the Taste of Cape Town festival this weekend and as always it was quite the treat.

I took the guided sensory tour through the Johnnie Walker Whisky Theatre where I learnt that whisky tasting is much the same as wine tasting (except you need to be careful when sniffing the whisky so as not to inhale).

I was also able to taste the newly released Bernini Blush before getting down to the serious business of food and wine tasting.

My first stop on the gastronomic route was at Pierneef a La Motte’s stand where I tried both the Cape Bokkom Salad and the Smoked Lamb’s Rib which I paired with the La Motte Cabernet Sauvignon 2008.

Next followed the Mustard marinated Beef Fillet at Planet Restaurant which was paired with Hermanuspietersfontein’s Klein Bartho 2007 Bordeaux Blend.

Savour Restaurant’s stand followed where I tried both the Norwegian Salmon and Slow-roasted Springbok Loin. I paired the salmon dish with Pieter Falke’s Blanc de Noir and the springbok with the newly released Mont Rochelle Shiraz 2006.

I then went on to try some more exotic dishes from Taj Cape Town (Spicy Chicken Fingers), Simply Asia (Duck Spring Rolls) and Wang Thai (Butternut Chicken). I paired the lot with De Wetshof’s Finesse / Lesca Chardonnay 2009.

All in all it was a wonderful experience which I would most definitely recommend you visit next year.

This article was first published as a blog post on WINE.CO.ZA, please click here to see the original article.

Leave a Reply

